Religious Studies

We offer courses of study including all six of the major world religions which are delivered throughout the secondary school age range and focus on the importance of ideas (philosophy) and their practical expression (ethics).

All students in years 9 and 10 follow the new AQA specification for RS at GCSE with an emphasis on Philosophy and Ethics. Year 11 students are following the OCR specification for RS.  In year 12, we run the AQA Philosophy AS and A2 Level and our year 13 students are currently completing the OCR A2 level in Philosophy and Ethics.

We encourage our students to appreciate different viewpoints on the matters we discuss whilst developing their own informed opinions. Students are taught how to communicate these views effectively and how to develop well-reasoned arguments - an important skill for life.

KS3: What will students learn?

Students in year 7 and 8 are assessed through class tests and homework tasks are used to support these. They study the following philosophical questions from the perspectives of Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism, Sikhism and Buddhism.

·         What does being reasonable about beliefs mean?

·         What does it mean to be happy?

·         Should we commit to loving our neighbour?

·         What makes us who we are?

·         Do animals have rights?

·         What beliefs are worth holding on to?

·         Is freewill an illusion?

KS4: What will students learn?

Compulsory GCSE for years 9 and 10: This Philosophy and Ethics GCSE covers Islam and Christianity, issues about the value of human life, Peace and conflict, the existence of God and Relationships. It is assessed through two written exams at the end of year 11.

GCSE Option for year 11: Current year 11 students are completing a Philosophy and Ethics GCSE covering topics such as Religion and Science, Human Relationships and Medical Ethics. End of life, Nature of Deity, Equality, Good and Evil and Religion, Peace and Justice. It is assessed through four written exams at the end of year 11.

KS5: What will students learn?

AS Level Philosophy for year 12 (leading to an A2): Current year 12 students are working towards an AS in Philosophy covering Epistemology and Philosophy of Religion. The course is assessed through one exam in year 12 and one in year 13.

A2 Level Philosophy and Ethics for year 13: Current year 13 students are completing their A2 in Philosophy and Ethics covering the Philosophy of Religion and Religious Ethics. The course is assessed through two exam papers at the end of year 13.